** Note: this post addressed the boot error gbb.flags is nonzero: 0x00000489 in Chromebook. Hope this helps anyone else who faces similar problem **

So I tried to install GalliumOS on my 4-5 year old Dell Chromebook 11 (1st Gen) yesterday. I rushed into referrring to Archlinux link.

Having put the Chromebook in developer mode, I set to ‘Boot to SeaBIOS by default’ without Disabling Hardware Write Protection. So I ended up setting some flags that bricked the Chromebook.

I had to create a Recovery USB using this link. Chromebook was still in a boot loop after multiple recovery installs and reboots.

I figured I needed to press Ctrl+Shift+D during the recovery boot loop to boot into the recovery USB.

From there on, once I had the ChromeOS booting, I needed to get to terminal by using these instructions.

Once in the terminal, I followed MrChromebox.tech install link and then set crossystem dev_boot_usb=1 to boot from the GalliumOS USB and install GalliumOS.